Why Lantern Characters Don’t Work in Fighting Games

Don’t get me wrong, I’m pumped for Injustice: Gods Among Us. I mean, I played the game at ME Comic-Con over the weekend, and it was awesome. Mind you, this wasn’t just the three character two stage demo. That is pretty awesome, yes, but I got the chance to play with a variety of the game’s characters. Sure, I only got to play three rounds. Naturally, I avoided the three playable characters on the demo, Lex Luthor, Wonder Woman, and Batman.

The three characters I did try out were Nightwing, Flash, and Green Lantern. And man, Green Lantern was disappointing. Not that it wasn’t fun to play as him, punching out Captain Marvel (or Shazam, as the proverbial “they” have decided to call him) as Green Lantern was certainly pretty cool. But my problem with him in a fighting game is the same as my issue with him in Lego Batman 2: DC Superheroes.

The fact is, he just doesn’t do much. Sure, Netherrealm has dome there best to incorporate his constructs into the gameplay. And yes, he had to be included, since he is one of the DC Universe’s biggest players, and certainly has a role to play in Injustice’s story. But here we have a character who can create literally anything he imagines. Seriously, the guy is like the sentient incarnation of Scribblenauts. His ring runs on will power, and it allows him to use his imagination to create his constructs. So in a video game setting, we don’t get much from him.

I’m not a huge fan of fighting games, so I didn’t really play around with the moves, especially since I didn’t want to waste other people’s time with looking at the moves list. But from the moves I did manage to figure out, the ring has a few set uses, and that annoys me. The same, I’m sure, goes for Sinestro, though his constructs are probably different.

Other characters I’ve played don’t have the sheer scope of power that Lantern has. With characters like Wonder Woman, The Flash, and Batman, there are limits to what they can do. Because of that, they work in fighting games, since a smaller set of powers allows for all of their powers to be encompassed. However, any Lantern characters simply cannot be narrowed down to a few moves in the game.

I do realize that the only alternative would be to take him out of the game, since they can’t write code for every single possibility for the ring’s use. But honestly, I’d rather not have Sinestro and Green Lantern in the game than have lame, nerfed versions of the character. Sorry, but I just felt like it had to be said somewhere.

About jeanluc1997

Fan fiction writer, Youtube video maker. Hardcore Star Wars fan. Progressive Liberal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

