Injustice: Gods Among Us Impressions

Note: I have only played the Xbox 360 version of the game, so I am not aware of any differences that may or may not exist between it and the PS3 version of the game.

Generally, I’m not a big fan of fighting games. I enjoyed the latest Mortal Kombat, but never went out and bought it. Injustice, however, may really get me into fighting games. I played it for the first time at ME Comic Con, and downloaded the demo when I returned from Dubai. Since then, I’ve played it a lot. Maybe a little bit too much. But that is because it’s a surprisingly awesome game.

At Comic Con, I’m pretty sure that I actually played full game, which was awesome. However, I’ll be the first to admit that I wasn’t very good. I didn’t want to waste anyone’s time looking over the moves, so I just sort of leapt in. That approach sort of worked, and by the time I got around to playing as The Flash, the game had gotten easier to understand. And once you understand the gameplay, the game becomes extremely enjoyable. In fact, it has become more enjoyable playing the demo, since I have had time to look over the moves list for the three available characters: Wonder Woman, Batman, and Lex Luthor.

And I have to say, there’s quite a bit of content in the demo. Granted, there’s only one stage (Gotham City), but there are five difficulty levels spread out across three characters. Plus, there are four characters that you’ll fight in the single battles. So that’s 60 fights if you start on Very Easy and go up, playing as each character. Of course, you can replay the single battles as many times as you want. And that isn’t even counting multiplayer.

Before I get into characters and gameplay, I’d like to touch on the stages. I’ve only played on two of them, the Batcave at Comic Con and Gotham City in the demo. Sure, they have been shown off a lot, but actually playing them is a much more satisfying experience. The stages add to the combat experience, since each of them is interactive, for example, on the Gotham City stage, you can slam your opponent into a helicopter. So instead of just pounding on each other, you’ll get to use what’s available to you to battle. And that’s a nice feature, since it seems like something many characters would do.

The stage design is also done pretty well. Each of them is essentially two stages in one, and each compresses major features of the stage into a smaller, more refined space. Surprisingly, it works. There’s a lot of fan service, like the Bat signal and the Batmobile, but being a fan, that’s very cool.

But the game’s biggest attraction is the wide variety of characters. Aside from the disappointment that is Green Lantern (and no doubt Sinestro as well) each of the characters I’ve played as deliver. Each uses their own specific skill set. Batman employs a variety of gadgets, from Batarangs to explosives. Flash’s attacks are based around speed. Wonder Woman can switch between her lasso and a sword and shield. Luthor, of course, has his suit.

Each of the characters works well, and feels balanced, at least to some extent. Other than Doomsday, who you can fight in the demo, the other characters I’ve fought have felt balanced. Even more importantly is that each character feels different. Battles feel different based on who you’re playing as, and that’s a good thing, because it gives the game variety, which is great.

Not only that, but the gameplay is extremely fast paced and fluid. Sure, some characters do move slower than others, but it doesn’t really slow down gameplay. This applies especially to the Hard and Very Hard difficulties, where the fighting begins right from the get go. Honestly, it’s great that the game moves so fast. Plus, it’s extremely fluid, and any clunkiness that is still there can be attributed to the fact that this isn’t the full game, which I simply cannot wait to get.

About jeanluc1997

Fan fiction writer, Youtube video maker. Hardcore Star Wars fan. Progressive Liberal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

