Five Upcoming Comic Book Series to Watch

5. Quantum and Woody

Creative Team: James Asmus and Tom Fowler

Publisher: Valiant

Personally, I don’t really recognize either of those names, probably because I don’t read as many Marvel comics and I should. Still, this isn’t about the creative team, at least for me. It’s about Quantum and Woody. Valiant’s reboot has been great so far, at least for Harbinger and Bloodshot, the two series that I’m reading. Those two are more serious books, so I’m excited to see Valiant putting out Quantum and Woody because it’s ridiculous. The original Quantum and Woody was (and is) downright hilarious, so I’m excited to see what a new creative team while do for the two characters.

4. The True Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys

Creative Team: Gerard Way and Becky Cloonan

Publisher: Dark Horse

My Chemical Romance broke up, yes, but that doesn’t mean that Gerard Way is stopping his creative output. We haven’t seen any new comics from him since Umbrella Academy, which wrapped up almost four years ago now, with Dallas. I loved every issue of Umbrella Academy, from Apocalypse Suite through Dallas, and I wish that there would be more of that. Sadly, that really isn’t looking likely. But really, I’m Ok with anything form Gerard Way. This new series is going to be based off of My Chemical Romance’s last album, which bears the same name as the comic book. The story that you get from the lyrics is awesome, and I’m excited to see where it will go in a comic book setting.

3. Trinity War

Creative Team: Geoff Johns and Ivan Reiss

Publisher: DC

This seven issue mini series, starting in July, is shaping up to be DC’s biggest event book since 2009’s Final Crisis. There’s been a lot of build up to it, and I’m excited to see how it plays out. The book will, obviously, feature the Trinity of Sin (Pandora, The Phantom Stranger, and the Question) who have had their story told as a back up to Justice League. Unlike most, I actually can’t wait to see the three Justice League’s, and probably the Secret Society as well, go at each other. With Geoff Johns at the helm, I’m sure that the story will be a great one, and the character’s will be handled very well, but the action is probably going to be great as well, and that’s what I’m looking forward to.

2. The Star Wars

Creative Team: ?

Publisher: Dark Horse

I’m not sure who the publisher for this book is. Nevertheless, the eight issue long mini series is looking pretty interesting. What I see it as is a fun break away from all the serious Star Wars comics, one where Dark Horse can just let loose and use George Lucas’ original Star Wars script, which is ridiculous, to create a comic. I don’t doubt that it won’t be good. Sure, it’s extremely far removed from the Star Wars we’re all familiar with, but really, that’s Ok. The comic is probably going to be pretty funny to read for those of us who are big fans of the franchise. This book is clearly designed for those of us who are fans of Star Wars, because why this book is so awesome will be lost on a larger audience. But that’s Ok.

1. Superman Unchained

Creative Team: Scott Snyder and Jim Lee

Publisher: DC

This creative team is DC’s powerhouse team. Scott Snyder is my favorite comic book writer of all time, and Jim Lee is one of my favorite comic book artists of all time. Putting those two on one book has me doing back flips. Well, not really, but it’s really awesome. Especially since Superman hasn’t really been given his due in the New 52. Morrison was great on Acton Comics for the most part, and issue #19 was awesome. However, every other Superman title is complete garbage, and I’ve stopped reading them. But there is absolutely no way that, with this creative team, this book won’t be awesome. I’m excited to see Snyder’s take on Superman, and this will for sure be one of the book’s that I read month to month.

About jeanluc1997

Fan fiction writer, Youtube video maker. Hardcore Star Wars fan. Progressive Liberal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Upcoming Comic Book Series to Watch

  1. Ivie says:

    Trinity War sounds cool, but I don’t keep up with DC the way I do with Marvel, so I don’t know if I’m not going to have a clue what’s happening if I just pick it up now. BUT! As for Star Wars, I’m all over that. I love Star Wars, and I’ve recently been looking into books and comics that are part of the Extended Universe, so I’ll have to get into this series! šŸ˜€

    • jeanluc1997 says:

      Actually Trinity War looks fairly accessible for new readers. If you’re into Star Wars comics, you should also check out the comic simply called “Star Wars” until The Star Wars comes out – it’s a stellar series so far, and since there’s only four issues it’s pretty easy to jump into.

Leave a Reply

