The Big Comics This Week

Sadly, neither a new issue of Saga or Batgirl come out tomorrow. What does this mean? I’m pretty sad. But really, there’s no reason to worry, because there’s so many good books coming out tomorrow that I can’t help but be excited. Our opinions are (obviously) different, so let me know which titles you can’t wait to read this week in the comments!

Harbinger #12

Image

Every time one of the Valiant books I read comes out, I’m always giddy with excitement, especially for Harbinger. Since the beginning, it’s been astonishingly well done, and I’ve loved every issue of the series. And I have never loved it more than now. The team has been established, and developed, and now, it’s in the middle of a big event, Harbigner Wars. The first issue of Harbinger Wars did a good job of encompassing all the different plot lines, but issue number 2 had none of the Renegades, until the last frame. So, as you can imagine, I’m now at the point where I really, really want more Renegades stuff, and issue #12 is sure to give me that, in a manner that is excellently written and extremely enjoyable to read.

Star Wars #5

Image

Brian Wood has really done a stellar job with this series so far, and it is easily one of the best Star Wars comics that I have ever had the pleasure of reading. Wood has been able to nail every single character so far, from Luke Skywalker to Han Solo, and especially Leia Organa. Last week, we were left with a big cliffhanger, of Leia’s squadron under attack by a group of TIE Interceptors. With this issue, I’m excited for a great dogfight, which both Wood and D’Anda have done a great job with so far. Also, I’m excited to see where they go with Han and Chewie’s plot line, since they’ve now gone deeper into the bowels of Coruscant. There’s just so much to love and be excited for in this series that it’s hard not to be super pumped for the next issue.

The Walking Dead #110

Image

For the first time since the Governor story, I am really, really loving The Walking Dead. Sure, I enjoyed the stuff in between, especially with some new characters being added, but Negan has brought a whole new dynamic into the book, one that is disturbing, yet intriguing at the same time. I mean, it looked like he had broken Rick at one point. Also, it’s interesting to look at how many members of Rick’s group are left standing at this point, and the new cats that has recently been pulled in, like Ezekiel’s extremely awesome tiger. But now, more than ever, I’m excited for the next issue of Walking Dead, because everyone is really getting ready to get rid of Negan once and for all. Seeing where that goes is going to be really awesome.

The Rocketeer: Hollywood Horror #4

Image

IDW has really done an outstanding job with all of their licensed properties, but none more so than the Rocketeer. He’s such a great character because of his age and his lack of both experience and maturity. Cliff is just such a fun character to read, and, I would imagine, to write as well. Issue #4 brings this latest mini series to a close, and I’m excited to see how it’s all wrapped up, since the plot and the characters have been extremely awesome so far. Also, in a lot of ways, I’m excited for this issue because of what’s coming next for the Rocketeer. The past miniseries have been great, but what this issue will do is get me excited for the upcoming Rocketeer/Spirit crossover, which will again provide an excellent miniseries. 

Batman #20

Image

Anything by Scott Snyder seems to be awesome, which makes me wish that he was doing more. An while I can;t wait for Superman Unchained to begin, or American Vampire to come back, I’ve still got my favorite ongoing series, which he writes, to keep me happy. This issue wraps up the two part Clayface story, which was great last month and will surely be great again this month. It’s great to see Snyder and Capullo take a break (albeit brief) from the huge, epic stories that they’ve done so far. This smaller story is fun, yet still maintains a tone that is consistent with the rest of the series. I also really love Clayface’s origin story that they’re telling right now, and so I’m excited to see how this all plays out.

 

About jeanluc1997

Fan fiction writer, Youtube video maker. Hardcore Star Wars fan. Progressive Liberal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

