My Top 5 Ongoing Marvel Series

Nova was my entry point into Marvel’s ongoing comics a few months ago, and I really loved that book. Now, Nova remains one of my favorites, but I’ve begun to read more of Marvel’s series. It’s mostly Marvel NOW stuff simply because I don’t know where I would start with some of Marvel’s other series, but I have to say, I’m pleasantly surprised at the quality. And the amount of Marvel books I get increases every month as I catch up with some of their other NOW! series.

5. Wolverine – Paul Cornell and Alan Davis

I loved the first issue, wasn’t a huge fan of the second, but the third really blew my mind. Actually, pretty much all the comics I read last week blew my mind, but Wolverine was probably one of the best. Paul Cornell is really starting to find his footing at this point, and the first story arc has evolved into a multi-tiered, complex plot. Like many of Marvel’s other titles, this book is fun, but at the same time, can be pretty dark. What else would you expect from a Wolverine book, though? It’s also introduced an interesting cast of characters that will hopefully stick around for a while, because they’re great characters, and I feel that they have a lot to add to the lore surrounding Wolverine. Paul Cornell has really done such a good job with this book so far, and, as always, Alan Davis is a beast, so the art is stellar, and the book is great to look at.

4. Fearless Defenders – Cullen Bunn and Will Sliney

Until Brian Wood’s X-Men book comes out, Fearless Defenders is one of two female superhero books I’m currently reading, the other, of course, begin Wonder Woman. And while this isn’t as good as Wonder Woman, it certainly holds it’s own with a bunch of other books on the market. Actually, it has a lot in common with Wonder Woman, especially the whole mythology aspect of the book, which I am personally a huge fan of. Sure, it’s only in it’s fourth issue, and the first story arc isn’t even complete, but I doubt that the quality will change. I really love the plot so far, and the plot twists serve a bigger purpose than simple shock factor. The characters are also pretty great, and they’re a lot of fun to read. And, honestly, it’s good for me, because I have never heard of any of these characters before. I don’t know if that’s because they haven’t existed before or just because of my ignorance when it comes to Marvel, but the exposure is great.

3. Nova – Jeph Loeb and Ed McGuiness

Where it was once among my top 5 ongoing series, I see now that Nova is severely outdone by other Marvel titles. Is it bad? No, actually it’s an awesome book. I’m not always the biggest fan of cosmic superhero stories. Obviously, I love things like Infinite Crisis, but outside of events, they aren’t my favorite books. However, Jeph Loeb has done a great job with the re-imagining of Nova as Sam Alexander. This is actually Loeb’s best book in a long while, as his Marvel work isn’t always as great as his DC work. Nova, however, is a clear exception. The book is a lot of fun, and, above all, it’s a story about discovery, and coming of age. Sure, it feels like some of the Spider-Man origin stories, but really, it’s ground that hasn’t been tread in a while, so I’m not going to complain about that. Another reason I won’t complain is because I love the character, and the other characters in this book. Especially, of course, the one and only Rocket Raccoon.

2. Hawkeye – Matt Fraction and David Aja

Or, as I more commonly call it, Hawkguy. Hawkeye isn’t a superhero book. It doesn’t feel out of place at Marvel, but, for all intents and purposes, I should hate this book. But hating this book is completely impossible, because, month after month, Matt Fraction writes excellent issue after excellent issue. Sure, there have been some that aren’t as good as others, but a “bad” issue of Hawkeye is still better than the best issue of most other books on the market, with – maybe – five or six exceptions at the most. It’s just so good. First of all, it’s hilarious. Seriously. Anyone who’s read it will agree with me. The book just makes me laugh at how horrible Hawkeye’s life is, and how much he’s screwed it up. If that makes, me a bad person, I don’t care, because Matt Fraction makes me laugh. And the art. Francesco Francavilla’s guest appearance last issue was awesome, but even the normal art is great. It feels cartoony in a way that is really awesome, so just like the rest of the book.

1. Daredevil – Mark Waid and Chris Samnee 

As much as I wish that Waid and Samnee would give Daredevil up and go write a Superman book for DC, I really, really enjoy Daredevil. This book has elevated Daredevil to my favorite Marvel hero, partially because it exposed me to other books taking place in Hell’s Kitchen, but mostly because this series is so very amazing. Samnee’s art is beautiful. It has a sort of less is more feel to it, because it’s such a minimalist style, but it’s still some really, really great work. But even better than Samnee’s art is Waid’s narrative. Yes, Daredevil is certainly one of Marvel’s darker books. And yet, it still has a very light tone to it, which very much embodies who Daredevil is, as the man without fear. He’s a very light hearted character – and that comes through very well in this series.In the book’s 25 issues, the story’s have all been excellent, and characters have all been handled very well, especially the villains, who go form Stilt Man all the way up to Dr. Doom.

 

About jeanluc1997

Fan fiction writer, Youtube video maker. Hardcore Star Wars fan. Progressive Liberal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Top 5 Ongoing Marvel Series

  1. xmenxpert says:

    I haven’t really been digging Wolverine that much. Savage Wolverine has been better. I think Cornell and Davis are just a bad fit for Wolverine. They’re very British, and while I ordinarily love that, it just feels off for Wolverine.

    Fearless Defenders is pretty good. A lot of fun. In terms of Marvel’s female-fronted titles, it’s actually my least favourite, but only because the others are so good. I adore Captain Marvel, Journey Into Mystery has been a lot of fun, and Red She-Hulk is great. And the upcoming X-Men by Brian Wood is going to be amazing.

    Nova’s been surprisingly good, considering it’s being written by Jeph Loeb, who’s spent the past few years being a talentless hack. I’m glad to see his writing improve. And I hope it’s also a sign that he’s getting over his son’s death, since that couldn’t have been easy.

    Hawkeye’s been excellent.

    Daredevil’s also been excellent.

    My top five, not necessarily in this order, would be X-Factor, Young Avengers, Captain Marvel, Journey Into Mystery, and All-New X-Men/Uncanny X-Men.

    As a side note, I also want to address the bit about you not knowing where to start with older titles. I think the best way to start is to just see what looks interesting (and what you’ve seen people raving about – get Captain Marvel!) and pick it up. If the writing and art appeal to you, keep reading it. If they don’t, don’t read it. Don’t worry about all the backstory – it doesn’t matter. Even in the most continuity-heavy stories, the ones that go down into the nitty-gritty of the most trivial minutiae of the character’s past adventures, it doesn’t really matter. You just have to roll with it. Accept what’s happening on the page and keep going. Don’t sweat the details.

    • jeanluc1997 says:

      I’ve wanted to get into Captain Marvel for a long time, but I haven’t been able to find the first issue. Eventually, I’ll probably just pick up the trade for simplicity’s sake. I also am loving Uncanny X-Force, just not to the extent of these five books, though I wouldn’t be surprised to see that change, what with the ending of issue #4.

      I’m a huge fan of Brian Wood (especially his recent Star Wars book, if you aren’t reading that I would encourage you to check it out, unless Star Wars isn’t your thing), and I’m really pumped for his X-Men series. I can actually see it becoming one of the best titles on the racks in the next couple of months.

      Nova is a lot of fun and I have to agree – ever since his Batman work Jeph Loeb hasn’t done anything of note, but Nova just keeps getting better, and the switch in creative team will probably just make the book even better.

      The biggest reason that I don’t read any of the stuff that’s been going on for a while is because it intimidates me, but I’ll take your advice and branch out from the NOW! titles simply to get the bigger picture of what’s going on at Marvel.

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

