The Comics I’m Excited For This Week

Age of Ultron #8

Image

I know not everybody loved issue #7, for whatever reason. Honestly, I couldn’t see how anyone could have not liked it. Sure, Age of Ultron isn’t the best event Marvel’s ever done, but it’s far from the worst (cough-Fear Itself-cough). It may not be for everybody, and that’s Ok, but I love the time travel, alternate universe angle that this book is rapidly going down. It’s cool in a lot of ways, and, in many ways, seems similar to those Infinites that Dark Horse did with Star Wars. It’s basically a “What If?” story. And so far, the “What if?” isn’t looking so great, but the story’s awesome. Also, I’m interested to – hopefully – see the group of heroes in the future next issue, as well as exactly what role Tony Stark is playing in this alternate universe.

Dream Thief #1

Image

I honestly don’t know much about this book. I know that the artist is new, but the art in the preview looks pretty awesome. I can’t speak to how the story will be, as I’m not familiar with the author, but the concept looks very, very interesting. A man being possessed in his sleep by the Native American spirits trapped in a mask he puts on? It certainly seems pretty out there, but, then again, that’s what I said about Saga when I first heard about it. And, now, I love Saga, and I love books that are very “out there”, and, one could say, trippy. It looks interesting enough to justify picking it up and reading it, and I’m sure that it will certainly stick around even after the first issue.

Nova #4

Image

I’m currently loving Nova. It’s got a pretty good story so far, and a great character in Sam Alexander. I really hope we get to see more of his character, and how his character interacts with others. Anyways, after the build up of the first three issues, it looks like Sam is finally going to be going into battle with the Chitauri. Is it a coincidence that the first enemy in this book is the same enemy that starred in last summer’s The Avengers? Probably not, but I’m certainly interested in seeing more of the Chitauri, especially in a book like this. I’m also interested to see Jeph Loeb pick up the cliffhanger from last issue, and see where that leads before the creative team shuffle.

Batgirl #20

Image

Sadly absent from last week’s books, Gail Simone returns with Batgirl this week, but now with a new plot. Yes, it continues from last month’s chilling conclusion to the James Gordon Jr story, but with a new villain taking center stage after his supposed death. I think that it’ll be great to see how Barbara reacts to being hunted by her own father, commissioner James Gordon. And, at long last, Batgirl gets some time on it’s own, for at least a year, with maybe a few guest appearances. The crossovers with Batman were handled very, very well, yes, but it’ll be great to see Simone really take her own stories and run with them, rather than alternate them to fit with whatever Snyder or Morrison is doing. Needless to say, I’m excited.

Wonder Woman #20

Image

I can say right now that this has a 99% chance of being the best book of this week. Wonder Woman, from the start, has not once seen a dip in quality. After last month’s stellar issue, I’m excited to see what happens in issue #20. Personally, I’m a little more excited for the First Son stuff, to see what Azzarello does with him, now that he’s made an alliance with Poseidon and Hades. Not to say that the other stuff doesn’t interest me, because that will undoubtedly be very awesome as well. I mean, there’s such a great cast of characters running around with Wonder Woman nowadays that are a lot of fun to read, not to mention Wonder Woman just being awesome. Oh, and there’s also Orion, so that’s awesome. 

The books I will review this week are:

From Dark Horse:

Darth Vader and the Ninth Assassin #2

Dream Thief #1

From DC:

Batgirl #20

Nightwing #20

Red Hood and the Outlaws #20

Wonder Woman #20

From Marvel:

Age of Ultron #8

Cable and X-Force #8

FF #7

Kick-Ass 3 #1

Nova #4

From Valiant:

Bloodshot #11

So I’ve got two new Marvel titles in the mix now – cable and X-Force and FF. Both looked pretty interesting, so I’m reading both of those books now. Also, this is the first week that I’m reading more books from Marvel than DC, but that may just be because this is DC’s weak week.

 

 

About jeanluc1997

Fan fiction writer, Youtube video maker. Hardcore Star Wars fan. Progressive Liberal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

