Day 9 – Most Touching Comic Book/Scene

At the end of the day, there are a ton of the answers to this. You could go with “We’ll always be friends” from the last issue of Geoff Johns’ Green Lantern. You could go with the death of Johnny Storm. You could go with the entirety of Batman and Robin #18. But for me, the most touching moment in a comic book was the end of Fabio Moon and Gabriel Ba’s Daytripper. No matter how many times I read it, when Bras reads the letter his dad left for him, I can’t help but get choked up.

The exact quote is this:

“Only when you accept that one day you’ll die can you let go, and make the best out of life. That’s the big secret. That’s the miracle.”

Usually, I’m not a very optimistic guy. But the second I read that line I went “Yes. This is what I needed.” And every time I read it, it feels like a punch to the gut. It has so much emotional power behind it, that it’s hard not to feel something every time I read that one line. It’s such an empowering line, and it really serves to underscore the point of that book: what it means to be human. It’s so great.

I get the feeling that I could take the most pessimistic of people, get them to read Daytripper, and their pessimism would be gone. That’s what that book will do to you. And, on top of that, it’s an excellent read.

About jeanluc1997

Fan fiction writer, Youtube video maker. Hardcore Star Wars fan. Progressive Liberal.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 9 – Most Touching Comic Book/Scene

  1. Sergio Snabian says:

    Could I borrow that comic some time? If it makes you happy, than holy shit.

Leave a Reply

